Aqui: Howard goal-getter

Date Published: 
Jamaica Gleaner

NIMBLE GOAL POACHER centre forward Keith Aqui will be included in the Bisons Soccer squad from Howard University which will arrive at the Palisadoes International Airport tomorrow (New Year's Eve, December 31.)

The Varsity team will be here on a four match stay which will stretch from their arrival date to Sunday, January 9.

Main objective of the visit is to seek schoolboy players to be included in the University's soccer team.

The man who will be scrutinising the performances of local schoolboys with a view to including some on the team will be team-scout Ethiopian Sala Yousif.

The Bisons boast an impressive record in the current National Collegiate competition. Having earned 13 wins in as many starts — scoring 82 goals and conceding only seven.

Chief goal-getter is the Trinidadian Aqui, with 25 goals. Of Aqui, it is said that he is an "acrobatic player" with terrific force and cunning. Himself and compatriot ALVIN HENDERSON, who scored 21 goals are invitees on the All-American team.

Howard will play their first match on Sunday at Mona Bowl against a UWI team, their second engagement will be on Monday against Combined St. Elizabeth and Manchester at Mandeville, their third is yet to be decided, but the final match of the tour will be against an All Schools team on Saturday, January 8 starting 4 p.m. at the National Stadium.

The full Howard aggregation comprises William Aboke Cole (Sierra Leone), Alfred Desmond (Tobago), Aqui (Trinidad), Ian Bain (Trinidad), Ronald Daly (Guyana), Mori Diane (Guinea), Anthony Donkwu (Nigeria), Elrod Ferriera (Trinidad), Zewdu Haplemariam (Ethiopia), Henderson (Trinidad), Edward Holder (Trinidad), Billy Jones (Sierra Leon), Anthony Martin, Trevor Mitchell (Trinidad), Onadeko Olusegun, Charles Pyne (Nigeria), Dillon Robinson (Bermuda), Odemichael Selassie (Ethiopia), Donald Simmons, Stanfield Smith (Bermuda), Andy Terrel (Westchester), Samuel Teteh (Ghana), Michael Tomlinson (Jamaica), Steve Waldron, Winston Yaliery (Trinidad), and Juan Zenzano (Bolivia).