Trinidad & Tobago FA celebrates 90th anniversary

Date Published: 

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Association celebrated its 90th anniversary with a week of hard work and a gala dinner at which 18 Trinidadians were honored for their contribution to football.

Trinidad and Tobago Football Association The work portion of the week was a seminar run by the English Football Association. The workshop, "Football Management in Today's Environment," included lectures and case studies on marketing/communications, public relations, finance, organizational structure and team management. Headed by Alex McGivan, chief of England's 2006 World Cup bid, the workshop was "absolutely superb" said CONCACAF President Jack Warner.

Mr. Warner was himself one of the honorees at the gala dinner in Port of Spain on Saturday night. The T&T federation honored those who have made significant contributions to the sport.

Among the retired players receiving awards, Carlton "The General" Franco, Jocy Gonzalez, Carlton "Squeaky" Hinds, Everald "Gally" Cummings, Alvin Corneal, and the "surprise" awardee, Dwight Yorke, star forward with Manchester United of the English Premier League.

Trinidad & Tobago FF President Oliver Camps delineated the significance of reaching 90 years of existence.

"Having reached 90 years, a significant period in the history of any organization, we felt we should have a celebration which would rally us on," President Camps said. "This was an opportunity for us to have a new beginning."

Special Awards recipients: Jack Austin Warner, Fitz Browne, Simono Petite, Donald Granado.

Honour Roll awardees: Eric James, Ken Galt, John Alleyne, Conrad Brathwaite, Delbert Charleau, Joffre Chambers, George Cumberbatch, Alvin Corneal, Everald Cummings, Ivan Carter, Delia De Silva, Carlton Franco, Joey Gonzales, Carlton Hinds, Allan Joseph, Dom Basil Matthews, Claude Maurice, and Dwight Yorke.