Caribbean Nations' Cup preliminaries start in April

Date Published: 

Preliminary rounds for the 1999 Caribbean Nations' Cup start in April. Twenty-six teams are competing for five spots in the most prestigious competition for national teams in the Caribbean. Eight teams will participate in the finals, including defending champions Jamaica, host team Trinidad & Tobago, a guest team to be announced, and the five qualifiers.

Preliminary round match calendar:

* Group 1: (April 7, 9 and 11th) Bermuda, Cuba, Bahamas, winner of preliminary series between Bahamas, Turks and Caicos, and the US Virgin Islands scheduled for February 1 - 28, and host Cayman Islands.

* Group 2: (May 12, 14 and 16th) Antigua/Barbuda, Dominica, winner of home and away series between Guyana and Barbados scheduled for February 13 - 25, and host Guadeloupe.

* Group 3: (April 28, 30; May 2) St. Kitts/Nevis, St. Lucia, winner of home and away series between Martinique/French Guyana scheduled for February 1 - 21, and host St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

* Group 4: (March 17, 19, 21) Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, winner of preliminary round between British Virgin Islands, Anguilla and Montserrat scheduled for January 15 - February 7, and host Haiti.

* Group 5: (June 2, 4, 6) Suriname, Netherlands Antilles, winner of home and away series between Aruba and St. Marteen schedules for February 20 - March 7, and host Grenada.

Group winners advance to the final round to be played from July 19 to the 31st in Trinidad & Tobago. The Caribbean Nations' Cup was formerly known as the Shell Caribbean Cup.