John Wins MVP At Shell Cup

Date Published: 
Jamaica Gleaner


TRINIDAD and Tobago's US-based striker Stern John drove away with the Most Valuable Player prize of a sporty three-door Suzuki Grand Vitara four-wheel drive jeep at the Shell Caribbean Cup football awards on Friday night.

John, who score a record 10 goals in the championship for T&T was given a standing ovation at the Holiday Inn when he was handed the keys to the Vitara. He scored in every match of the finals.

The marauding striker, who plays with Columbus Crew in the MLS, was also presented with a US$1,000 cheque as well as the Golden Boots trophy for scoring the most goals at the finals.

His strikes included two against Martinique; four against Dominica; and two against Haiti. John scored as well in T&T's 1-2 surrender of the title to Jamaica in the championship match on Friday.

Jamaica's inspirational midfielder Theodore Whitmore was crowned Caribbean Footballer of the Year and the Jamaican national team was named to the Caribbean Football Union's (CFU), Hall
of Fame.

John's Trinidad and Tobago teammate, Clayton Ince, was voted goalkeeper of the tournament and the Fairplay trophy went to Trinidad and Tobago.

John, Ince and Whitmore were all named on a 20-man Caribbean All Star Team announced by CFU president and FIFA third vice-president, Austin Jack Warner.

Warner announced that the All Star Team will replace Trinidad and Tobago on a tour to Korea, Japan and Hong Kong in November.

The All Star Team includes Goalkeepers Clayton Ince (TT), Aaron Lawrence (Jam), Elvis Anthony (Ant/Bar) Defenders Ancil Elcock (TT), Ian Goodison (Jam), Onandi Lowe (Jam), Judes Vaton (Mart), Garfield Gonsalves (Ant/Bar). Midfielders Sherwyn Julien (TT), Clint Marcelle (TT), David Nakhid (TT), Anthony Rougier (TT), Theodore Whitmore (Jam), Ricardo Gardner (Jam), Dean Sewell (Jam), John Tittle (Ant/Bar) Strikers Stern John (TT), Irasto Knights (TT), Derrick Edwards (Ant/Bar), Robert Menelas (Haiti)