CFU Nations Cup to be held every 4 years

Date Published: 
Jamaica Gleaner

PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad, Dec 20, CANA

THE Caribbean Football Union (CFU)'s Nations Cup will in future be held every four years, it was announced here.

The tournament, which was previously biennial, will next be held in Martinique in 1988, when the CFU will also hold an under-16 series tentatively set for Jamaica, according to Austin 'Jack' Warner, a local CFU executive member.

There will also be an under-18 series and a tournament for women beginning next year in either Trinidad or Guadeloupe.

The decisions were taken at a CFU executive meeting in Puerto Rico earlier this month.

Warner attended that meeting after going to a FIFA conference in Zurich where he was re-elected for another two-year term as a member of both the appeal board and the organising committee.

At the Zurich meeting, Aruba, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and St. Lucia were accepted as members of CONCACAF which should lead to their membership in FIFA after two years.

Meanwhile the CFU also restructured its groupings to take into account its increased membership which now stands at 20.

The new groups: North Caribbean: Cuba, Haiti, Jamaica, Antigua and Barbuda, Montserrat,
Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic.

Central Caribbean: Barbados, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Dominica.

South Caribbean: Trinidad and Tobago, French Guiana, Guyana, Aruba, Suriname, Curacao, Grenada.